Unbreakable Self

Shooting With Your Left Hand

Posted in Character, Daily, Motivation by Ahmed on June 22, 2010

So, it’s been a while since I’ve last posted…a ton of stuff going on. Took a new job in Long Beach, CA. This is huge for me for many reasons.

1. I’ve lived in the Bay Area for 20 years…I’m leaving all the friends and family behind

2. I’ll be working in biotech sales…something I’ve wanted to do for a while now. Very excited.

3. Moving is a pain

But, moving on (no pun), I’m sad to leave SF right now. I live with some awesome roommates who all live a positive life and are all committed to being the best guys that they can possibly be in regards to career, wealth, women, friendships, etc. All across the board. The six months that I’ve spent here have been a HUGE series of ongoing lessons.

So, what’s with the title and all of this rambling about my move?

Well, I love to play basketball, and as I’ve grown older, I’ve realized that growing up, I missed a lot of the fundamentals to a lot of different sports. So, with basketball, I’m realizing that I have no left hand when it comes to dribbling and passing. What did I do for an hour today? Shot with my left hand.

Did it suck? You better believe that I looked like a Turkish retard trying to get that ball off of my left hand. Fuck.

But…the important thing was accepting the failure (unbelievable # of missed shots) and understanding that things get better with repetition. Because, guess what happens when I do enough shots with my left hand…I BECOME A BETTER AND MORE WELL-ROUNDED PLAYER.

Guess how that translates to life.

Work on your wekanesses with a growth mindset and you’ll become a better person at whatever you’re trying to do (approaching women, closing sales calls, physique, etc).

Balance. Keep shooting with your left hand, your game will appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

